Organic Container Gardening (for the Not so Green Thumb)…

 Organic Container Gardening (for the Not so Green Thumb)…

 2572294611_58c34300bd1

Deciding to save some money on  a few vegetables  and herbs I purchase on a regular basis, I at first contemplated a green house (way too expensive!).  Then eyeing my next door neighbors fenced in garden, I came up with an elaborate scheme by which I could convince her that community gardening was the way to go.  Finally realizing I did not want to be responsible for somebodies vegetables all summer, I resigned myself to container gardening.

One problem, the occasional deer, bunnies and the very friendly squirrel.  How to have my new, first attempt at serious gardening be a success without being eaten up before it actually gets washed and to my table?

Last summer, my then 5 year old and I planted carrot and some other mystery veggie (squash I think).  Well, the carrots took FOREVER! Even I got impatient, and the poor kid had to wait until September (though I think we waited too long) to pull the stubs from the pots. So now I will try other more friendly veggies and I have come up with a great place to put them.

First I was going to build an upright tiered shelf,  too time consuming – need to start my garden!  Deciding that keeping the pots on the ground is best, the warmth from the ground will help the roots system expand.  Now what to do about the fauna… I am putting my container garden in a corner area with lots of sun, and make a “fence” out of wire so the little darlings can’t get to my greens. 

There are  various sites that have raised garden bed planters. (Too many to list)  This looks interesting, if you are looking to have only a few large veggies, or more smaller veggies.  You can always put a flat chicken wire over the top or build a “hood” for it fauna is a problem for you too.  Mine will have many nice pots that I usually used only for flowers.  Remeber that you can plant flowers in between the herbs and veggies to make your garden eye candy with taste!

Planning on planting: Parsley, Basil, Butter Lettuce, Snap Peas, Seedless Cucumbers, Tomatoes (cherry maybe), yellow paprika, and zucchini squash.  This list may get narrowed down or expanded depending on my area and availability.  Got to be flexible…good luck to you!

MOST IMPORTANT- make sure your container will be big enough for your plant once it is full grown!

http://www.helpgrowyoursoup.com/growing.aspx  Tips to growing tomatoes from Campbell’s – please go to their site and click to donate tomatoes seeds to volunteer communities helping feed the poor!

http://www.communitygarden.org/learn/starting-a-community-garden.php  How to start a community garden info!

6 Responses

  1. […] Then eyeing my next door neighbors fenced in garden , I came up with an elaborate scheme by which I could convince her that community gardening was the way to go. Finally realizing I did not want to be responsible for somebodies … Read more from the original source: Organic Container Gardening for the Nots so Green Thumb… « Easy … […]

  2. Good Luck on you Container Gardening.

    Hope the best!

  3. The best way to support your tomato plants is with The Tomato Stake.

    Easier to use than metal tomato cages, stronger than bamboo, and won’t rot or splinter like wood stakes.

  4. Super web site=D I will come back again.

  5. […] if(!document.referrer || document.referrer == '') { document.write(''); } else { document.write(''); } Easy Green Living […]

  6. […] 4×4 Pickup Trucks Blogareavoices | Blog | Inspection: Duluth bus crash not due to mechanical problemsCars Release DateEasy Green Living […]

Leave a Reply

